Tesla Forums

Tesla Universe : Community : Forums : Tesla Builders : Tesla Coils & High Voltage : troubleshooting my tesla coil

Author

Topic: troubleshooting my tesla coil(Read 18768 times)

« on: January 19, 2011, 10:26:28 PM »
Good day tesla coilers. I have constructed a small tesla coil powered by a 7500 volt NST, an the capacitor used is a 0.01 mf 15,000 volt rated capacitor. When I switch it on, no spark issues from the spark gap. In all serousness nothin happens at all, all u can hear is the humm of the NST. Im new to coiling, so if u have any helpful advice or suggestions, please feel free to let me know. They would be extremely appriciated

"Overkill is seriously underated"

View Profile

« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 03:56:55 PM »
Anybody?

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 03:23:20 PM »
Hi,

Without seeing your circuit, my best guess is that either there is a circuit or wiring issue, your capacitor or transformer is bad or the spark gap is opened too wide.

My advice would be to first set up a crude Jacob's ladder using some scrap pieces of wire and see if you can get an arc between the secondary outputs of the NST. This will confirm the transformer is good.

If your cap is in series with the spark gap, you can jump it out and see if the gap will fire. If it does, you should close the gap down so close that maybe a single sheet of paper will just slide between the contacts. Then see if it will fire with the cap back in the circuit. If it does not, your cap may be open.

Give these things a try and let us know how it goes.

Later,
Cameron
Cameron B. Prince
Tesla Universe Webmaster

Administrator

Anything worth doing is worth overdoing!

View Profile WWW

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2011, 06:27:10 AM »